Meditation as an antidote to short-term noise…

Once I got out of my own way and realised that I don’t have to live up to anyone else’s meditation expectations, and that I could actually carve out a practice that I felt good about committing to, my Zen time shifted dramatically. I had nothing to prove to anyone beside myself. So these days I sit on my special stool in my special room and meditate every morning for half an hour without fail. If I don’t, I enter the day at less than my best. But as for my other two previously dreaded sessions, I’ve pretty much ditched them and replaced them with other meditation-like activities. This way I still make sure I’m checking in with myself and injecting my day with peace and serenity when needed, but I’m not beating myself up over the fact that I’m not Ghandi. Maybe one day things will change, but for now I’ve never been more content with my new peace plan.

In order to combat the issues of our time, it is essential that people are able to appreciate the bigger picture of their lives as part of the wider workings of the world, and the part we play in perpetuating the forces at work on our planet, for good or evil.

The latest way some corrupt politicians have managed to make fools of themselves, the latest big-bank engineered stock market move, the latest football scores, the latest gossip…all of this is part of what Michael Maloney calls ‘short-term noise.’

Short-term noise distracts one from considering the long-term, more profound financial cycles which are the key to true wealth. Short term noise distracts one from living the present in a way which caters to our long-term health and happiness. In general, it is a sacrifice of long-term success and happiness for superficial short-term distractions.

Meditation is an important tool for focusing the mind on what is substantive, and you certainly don’t have to play by anyone else’s rules – outcomes are what matters.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

